Medina Beats Slater to Win Billabong Pro Tahiti

By on August 26, 2014

The current world number one, Brazil’s Gabriel Medina, solidified his name atop the world ratings by taking out the Billabong Pro Tahiti today in pumping six-to eight-foot barrels. The 20-year-old Brazzo took out Kolohe Andino in the quarters, Australian Bede Durbidge in the semis and the 11 time world champion Kelly Slater in a dramatic final. Medina went to work quickly in the 45-minute final, locking in four solid scores before Slater even looked up. Slater would eventually come out of things with the heats highest score, a 9.63, and although it didn’t match Medina’s two wave total at that point, the heat was all but over. With less than two minutes to go, Slater was left needing a 9.33 when he willed the heat’s best wave, but then fell on what surely would’ve been a 10-point ride. Medina, with priority, and 30 seconds left, let Slater go on another bomb in which Slater logged yet another sick tube. Was it the 9.33 he needed? Nope. Slater scored a 9.30 and Medina is your Billabong Pro Tahiti Champion, and reigning WCT ratings leader. With three WCT wins under his belt this year, Medina looks solid to be Brazil’s first world champion, but there are still quite a few events left and anything can happen when it comes down to Pipe this December. Looking forward to seeing what goes down.

Check out Medina’s Opening Wave in the Semifinals ….

Final Results of the Billabong Pro Tahiti

1. Gabriel Medina
2. Kelly Slater
3. Bede Durbidge, John Florence5. Kolohe Andino, Ace Buchan, Dion Atkinson, Owen Wright

About Skip Snead

Action Sport Media